Shebester wins OCRS season opener

Shebester wins OCRS season opener
26 events at 11 tracks highlight 2022 OCRS schedule
Shebester wins OCRS season opener
by John Rittenoure, MEEKER, Okla. (March 4, 2022) – Steven Shebester led start-to-finish in Friday’s AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Sprint Car season opener at Red Dirt Raceway, but the 25-lap distance was more grueling then Shebester expected.
“It was getting a little tough toward the end,” said Shebester about going the distance on opening day of the Red Dirt Raceway Spring Nationals. “Being the first race of the season I got a little wore out. I need to get back into race shape.”
Part of the problem stemmed a fast tacky track that made for a very competitive field.
“The track was good,” Shebester said. “I came up on lapped traffic about 15 laps in and they were fast. Everyone was fast. It was good everywhere. You could move around a little bit. On top you could get that momentum going and just rip it.”
The race almost went green-to-checkered until the yellow waved with about seven laps remaining for a turn four spin.
“I hated to see that yellow come out and let Tanner (Conn) right behind me again,” Shebester said. “I just held on to it.”
Conn came from fourth to second but could not rundown Shebester. Whit Gastineau started fifth and settled for third, pole sitter Jordan Knight fell to fourth and Nebraska driver Tyler Drueke rounded out the top five.
About the AmeriFlex / OCRS Series –
Established in 2002, the Tulsa OK based AmeriFlex / OCRS series sanctions dirt track sprint car racing in the southern region of the central plains. Fan appeal and quality race teams, combined with our solid core of supporting sponsors are the nucleus of the series. Thrilling competition providing the ultimate quality family entertainment is the essence of what the AmeriFlex / OCRS series is all about.
About Ameri-Flex Hose & Accessories –
Located in Tulsa OK, AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories is a family owned and operated company. From food grade hose to hoses for the petroleum industry, Ameri-Flex will strive to fill your needs. AmeriFlex can build a hose to your specifications or we will assist you in creating what you have designed while you wait. Ameri-Flex has several hard to find items that some vendors can’t get or find. Product can be shipped quickly and efficiently. If we do not have what you are looking for, we will direct you on where to find it. Give us a try, after all…………..
AmeriFlex Has The Stuff That Keeps You Going!
AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Contingency Sponsors
AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories, Hoosier Racing Tires, Smileys Racing Products, Schoenfeld, Brodix, Lucas Oil, RacinDirt.TV, Schure Built Suspension, Lightning Wings & Powder Coating, Smith Titanium, MyRacePass.
AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Sprint Car Results
Red Dirt Raceway, Meeker, Okla.
March 4, 2022
A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 16S-Steven Shebester[2]; 2. 78-Tanner Conn[4]; 3. 2-Whit Gastineau[5]; 4. 10-Jordan Knight[1]; 5. 12-Tyler Drueke[3]; 6. 7F-Noah Harris[6]; 7. 17E-Blake Edwards[8]; 8. 5-Joe Bob Lee[15]; 9. 88-Terry Easum[12]; 10. 22M-Rees Moran[10]; 11. 55W-Danny Wood[20]; 12. 32K-Chris Kelly[7]; 13. 1-Johnny Kent[9]; 14. 08E-Elizabeth Phillips[19]; 15. 5H-Cameron Hagin[18]; 16. 18-Dillon Laden[17]; 17. 7-Shane Sundquist[11]; 18. 11K-Tyler Knight[14]; 19. 5$-Danny Smith[13]; 20. 31-Casey Wills[16]
B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 5-Joe Bob Lee[2]; 2. 18-Dillon Laden[7]; 3. 08E-Elizabeth Phillips[3]; 4. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[1]; 5. $5-Emilee Lowry[5]; 6. P78-Kevin Pickard[6]; 7. 69-Greg York[9]; 8. 83-Jett Hays[4]; 9. 8X-Austin Shores[8]; 10. (DNS) 9$-Kyle Clark
B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. 31-Casey Wills[2]; 2. 5H-Cameron Hagin[1]; 3. 55W-Danny Wood[5]; 4. 22C-Jonathan Beason[6]; 5. 94F-Morgan Fletcher[4]; 6. 938-Bradley Fezard[8]; 7. 33K-JT Kelly[3]; 8. 00-Daniel Shaffer[7]; 9. (DNS) 77-Dean Drake Jr
Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 10-Jordan Knight[3]; 2. 32K-Chris Kelly[2]; 3. 22M-Rees Moran[4]; 4. 11K-Tyler Knight[5]; 5. 94F-Morgan Fletcher[1]; 6. 83-Jett Hays[7]; 7. 18-Dillon Laden[6]; 8. 8X-Austin Shores[8]; 9. (DNS) 77-Dean Drake Jr
Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 78-Tanner Conn[3]; 2. 2-Whit Gastineau[1]; 3. 17E-Blake Edwards[5]; 4. 31-Casey Wills[2]; 5. 33K-JT Kelly[4]; 6. $5-Emilee Lowry[6]; 7. P78-Kevin Pickard[8]; 8. (DNS) 9$-Kyle Clark
Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 16S-Steven Shebester[5]; 2. 7F-Noah Harris[1]; 3. 88-Terry Easum[3]; 4. 5-Joe Bob Lee[4]; 5. 5H-Cameron Hagin[7]; 6. 08E-Elizabeth Phillips[8]; 7. 00-Daniel Shaffer[6]; 8. 69-Greg York[2]
Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 12-Tyler Drueke[2]; 2. 1-Johnny Kent[1]; 3. 5$-Danny Smith[3]; 4. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[5]; 5. 7-Shane Sundquist[8]; 6. 55W-Danny Wood[6]; 7. 22C-Jonathan Beason[7]; 8. 938-Bradley Fezard[4]
Lap Leaders: Steven Shebester 1-25.
Media Contact:
John Rittenoure
(918) 232-7153