Edwards off to a fast 2022 start, wins OCRS main at Creek County

Edwards off to a fast 2022 start, wins OCRS main at Creek County
26 events at 11 tracks highlight 2022 OCRS schedule
Edwards off to a fast 2022 start,
wins OCRS main at Creek County
by John Rittenoure – KELLYVILLE, Okla. (March 19, 2022) – Blake Edwards came close to winning his first AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Sprint Car main event two weeks ago with a second place finish at Red Dirt Raceway. Saturday at Creek County Speedway Edwards got the win.
Edwards took the lead after a lap 14 restart and led the field to the checkered for his first OCRS career victory.
“We have been fast the first three races, and almost won the second night at Meeker, and finally won tonight,” smiled Edwards who moved into a tie for the points lead with Red Dirt Raceway winner Steven Shebester.
Two-time 2021 Creek County OCRS winner Noah Harris jumped into the early lead from the outside front row and was chased by pole sitter Alex Sewell in second and Edwards in third after two lap one restarts. Edwards passed Sewell for second on lap 12.
On lap 14 the yellow waved for a mishap that saw Edwards and Harris make contact. Harris left the race and Edwards was able to continue and took over the lead.
“We made a little contact there,” Edwards said of racing with Harris. “We were going for the same place at the same time and met. Unfortunately he got the bad end of it and I didn’t.”
Sewell remained in second after the restart till Terry Easum took the spot away on lap 18. Sewell faded to fifth on lap 24 as Shebester and Tanner Conn raced into third and fourth respectively. Casey Wills came from third in the B Feature to start 17th in the A-Feature where he gained 11 spots to sixth earning him the D and G Contracting Hard Charger award.
Edwards felt he could not have had a better handling car and could run anywhere on the track.
“I just got into a rhythm and lapped traffic helped me with some green flag laps,” Edwards said. “My setup was spot on and it was a dream to drive. It was so easy I could put the car anywhere I needed it.”
Elizabeth Phillips picked up her first OCRS victory winning the 12-lap B main to transfer into the A-Feature where she finished 12th.
AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Results
Creek County Speedway, Kellyville, Okla.
March 19, 2022
AmeriFlex Hose Accessories A Feature 1 (30 Laps): 1. 17E-Blake Edwards[8]; 2. 88-Terry Easum[11]; 3. 16S-Steven Shebester[3]; 4. 78-Tanner Conn[9]; 5. 8-Alex Sewell[1]; 6. 31-Casey Wills[17]; 7. 5$-Danny Smith[7]; 8. 22M-Rees Moran[14]; 9. 5H-Cameron Hagin[10]; 10. 5-Joe Bob Lee[19]; 11. 26M-Fred Mattox[6]; 12. 08E-Elizabeth Phillips[15]; 13. 20-Shawn Wicker[12]; 14. 38-Jimmy Forrester[18]; 15. 69-Greg York[20]; 16. 00-Daniel Shaffer[13]; 17. 7F-Noah Harris[2]; 18. 1-Johnny Kent[16]; 19. 55M-Corey McGehee[5]; 20. 22C-Charlie Crumpton[4]
B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 08E-Elizabeth Phillips[1]; 2. 1-Johnny Kent[8]; 3. 31-Casey Wills[6]; 4. 38-Jimmy Forrester[5]; 5. 5-Joe Bob Lee[7]; 6. 69-Greg York[3]; 7. 22T-Frank Taft[11]; 8. 39-Kimberly Tyre[2]; 9. 2L-Brandon Leland[10]; 10. 22Z-Zach Campbell[4]; 11. 31K-Ross Moore[12]; 12. 15-Jase Randolph[9]; 13. 8X-Austin Shores[13]
Schure Built Suspension Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 8-Alex Sewell[2]; 2. 16S-Steven Shebester[6]; 3. 5H-Cameron Hagin[4]; 4. 08E-Elizabeth Phillips[3]; 5. 22Z-Zach Campbell[5]; 6. 31-Casey Wills[7]; 7. 22T-Frank Taft[1]
Lightning Wings Powder Coating Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 22C-Charlie Crumpton[2]; 2. 55M-Corey McGehee[4]; 3. 5$-Danny Smith[6]; 4. 69-Greg York[1]; 5. 38-Jimmy Forrester[5]; 6. 5-Joe Bob Lee[7]; 7. (DNS) 31K-Ross Moore
Smith Titanium Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 17E-Blake Edwards[1]; 2. 78-Tanner Conn[3]; 3. 20-Shawn Wicker[2]; 4. 00-Daniel Shaffer[5]; 5. 39-Kimberly Tyre[6]; 6. 15-Jase Randolph[4]; 7. (DNS) 8X-Austin Shores
RacinDirt Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 26M-Fred Mattox[1]; 2. 7F-Noah Harris[6]; 3. 88-Terry Easum[4]; 4. 22M-Rees Moran[5]; 5. 1-Johnny Kent[3]; 6. 2L-Brandon Leland[2]
Lap Leaders: Noah Harris 1-13, Blake Edwards 14-30.
Margin of victory: 2.114 seconds.
D and G Contracting Hard Charger: Casey Wills +11.
Top 10 Standings: 1-(tie). Blake Edwards, Steven Shebester 334; 3. Tanner Conn 318; 4. Rees Moran 303; 5. Terry Easum 293; 6. Joe Bob Lee 281; 7. Cameron Hagin 253; 8. Noah Harris 252; 9. Elizabeth Phillips 236; 10. Tyler Drueke 227.
2022 Winners: 3/4 – Steven Shebester (Red Dirt Raceway); 3/5 – Tyler Drueke (Red Dirt Raceway); 3/19 – Blake Edwards (Creek County Speedway).
About the AmeriFlex / OCRS Series –
Established in 2002, the Tulsa OK based AmeriFlex / OCRS series sanctions dirt track sprint car racing in the southern region of the central plains. Fan appeal and quality race teams, combined with our solid core of supporting sponsors are the nucleus of the series. Thrilling competition providing the ultimate quality family entertainment is the essence of what the AmeriFlex / OCRS series is all about.
About Ameri-Flex Hose & Accessories –
Located in Tulsa OK, AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories is a family owned and operated company. From food grade hose to hoses for the petroleum industry, Ameri-Flex will strive to fill your needs. AmeriFlex can build a hose to your specifications or we will assist you in creating what you have designed while you wait. Ameri-Flex has several hard to find items that some vendors can’t get or find. Product can be shipped quickly and efficiently. If we do not have what you are looking for, we will direct you on where to find it. Give us a try, after all…………..
AmeriFlex Has The Stuff That Keeps You Going!
AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Contingency Sponsors
AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories, Hoosier Racing Tires, Smileys Racing Products, Schoenfeld, Brodix, Lucas Oil, RacinDirt.TV, Schure Built Suspension, Lightning Wings & Powder Coating, Smith Titanium, MyRacePass.
Richard Bales photo.
Media Contact:
John Rittenoure
(918) 232-7153